TESTIMONIALS

Trail rides speak for themselves, but there is nothing more convincing than what others have to say about their first-hand experiences after riding on one of our Texas Hill Country trail rides. After reading these testimonials, you won’t want to wait another minute before booking a trail ride with Cross-G-Ranch Trail Rides and considering “horseback-riding-destination-Texas on your next holiday or vacation.”


Eric G.:
Villiers-sur-Marne, France
0 friends
1 review
5.0 star rating 9/7/2015
Cette ballade restera un moment fort de notre séjour au texas. Cette ballade se fait au milieu de grands espaces sauvages où on peut apercevoir des daims, des lapins et surtout du bétail. Il ne s agit pas d’une promenade toute tracée, les chevaux suivent vos directives. Ma femme qui n’avait jamais monté à cheval s’est très bien débrouillée grace aux conseils de nos guides. En résumé: sérieux sécurité, authenticité et plaisir.


Susan D.:
Uvalde, TX
0 friends
2 reviews
5.0 star rating 7/10/2014
While on vacation in the Bandera area, my boyfriend and I wanted to go riding. We found Cross G Ranch and couldn’t have had a better riding experience! Nancy and Ron run a great business. They were kind, professional and fun. We rode beautiful horses through a beautiful ranch. The riders were given some freedom to loop and go “off rode”. We will definitely ride with them again!


Marty R.:
Fountain Hills, AZ
0 friends
2 reviews
5.0 star rating 9/30/2015
Our recent trip to cowboy country was highlighted by the amazing Cross G Ranch horse ride. Not your nose to tail ride but an adventure through the rolling hills with fantastic scenery!! The horses were well trained and responsive. The dogs added a special touch making you feel you were out with friends just enjoying an afternoon ride. Amber our guide was attentive to what we wanted to experience and was an added plus to our ride. Ron, your humor kept us smiling all day and your training and care of these horses really shows. THIS IS THE THE PLACE TO RIDE!!!! Thank you for making the experience a wonderful memory we will cherish!


Alyson W.:
Schertz, TX
0 friends
1 review
5.0 star rating 10/1/2015
This was my second ride at Cross G with Ron. What an amazing day we had, he took me on a different trail than the first one and it was even better than my first time out. I love riding with Ron at the Cross g Ranch. I have been searching for a good place to ride that’s not your average hum drum trail ride. I have found my horse back riding home. I love it and Ron is so patient, understanding, and a down right wonderful man. It’s truly a blessing to have found the Cross g and Ron……………Alyson


Karen K.:
Waring, TX
8 friends
1 review
5.0 star rating 10/12/2015
On October 10, a group of five of us rode with Ron on the fabulous Northrup Ranch in Pipe Creek. Choosing the 3 hour ride on top of the ridge was a fabulous way to celebrate my Sister-in-law’s birthday, as Ron had suggested. Ron was very patient in spending time with each rider, choosing the correct horse for varied riding levels in our group , and was never without a joke to keep everyone entertained! The scenery was spectacular, and everyone in our group had a top-notch experience. Having been involved with horses most my life, and having had in my past, the responsibility of overseeing riders as a wrangler, my focus is always on safety first. Ron did not disappoint here. He gave tips and advice along the way, as needed, while keeping the atmosphere light and fun. The horses are well cared for and healthy, and Ron and Amber clearly value their relationship with them, like family members! Tack was in very good shape and Ron was quick to make any adjustment as needed on the trail! A special touch was the two pups, traveling with us along the path!
When the trail ended, ended, we were five happy “Buckaroos,” heading into town for refreshment and conversation about our experience! Thank you Ron, for a most enjoyable ride!
Ron G.
Comment from Ron G. of Cross-G-Ranch
Business Owner
10/12/2015 Thanks Karen, I had a blast riding with your birthday party. Hope the memories last a lifetime. Ron Griffith


Karen C.:
Chandler, AZ
0 friends
2 reviews
5.0 star rating 10/14/2015
This is not your normal trail ride. Amber was great, challenging us and always giving helpful tips about the terrain. She was friendly and funny and a blast to ride with. Cantering through the woods was amazing. Thanks for a great ride. Have to mention the horses, they were superstars too.
Ron G.
Comment from Ron G. of Cross-G-Ranch
Business Owner
10/14/2015 Thank You Karen for a wonderful review. We’re glad your ride was all you hoped for and more.Hope to again. Ron Griffith CGR


Adriana M.:
Troy, NY
0 friends
2 reviews
5.0 star rating 6/13/2015
Ron and Amber created a wonderful experience for my friend and I who are both experienced equestrians. What I appreciate and I loved most about Cross-G-Ranch is that they fit the horse and the trail to the rider’s experience. We were able to go over steep rocky inclines, water crossings, and lope/canter the horses on the flat grades. To my fellow equestrians looking for a trail ride that isn’t nose to rump, this is the perfect place! The scenery is beautiful, lots of greenery and flowers.

Ron and Amber were super friendly and helpful. I’ve ridden hunt seat for a few years and not much western, so I naturally hold a tighter rein when trotting or cantering. Thanks to Ron’s tips and insight I was able to keep my horse happy with a looser rein. The horses we had, Blue Boy and Riley, are two excellent steady horses.

All around this was the one of the best trail ride experiences I’ve had. If you do decide to ride in the summer, highly recommend riding in the early morning to avoid the heat. The prices are very reasonable. We did a two-hour trail ride for $80 each person. I’ve gone to places that charge anywhere from $100-225 for two hours but didn’t even come close to providing such a fantastic experience.

Schedule your trail ride here and you won’t be disappointed!! We had a blast and hope you do too!


Neil L.:
Winchester, VA
29 friends
25 reviews
5.0 star rating 6/26/2015
Had a great time riding today with Ron and the two young ladies helping him. Beautiful countryside and we had so much fun. They were very helpful and Ron made us laugh. A genuine great guy and a great experience!


Alex N.:
Brooklyn, NY
0 friends
2 reviews
5.0 star rating 7/15/2015
If you are in the area Cross-G-Ranch is a must! Two friends and I were passing through on a road trip and our ride with Ron and Amber was one of the highlights of our trip. I hadn’t ridden a horse since I was a young girl but Ron and Amber gave great instruction and I felt totally comfortable riding the beautiful horse Ranger.
The landscape is gorgeous and varied – I want to go back to Pipe Creek just to ride again!


Kim C.:
Austin, TX
4 friends
6 reviews
5.0 star rating 8/5/2015
What a great day! Ron, Amber and Celine met us with smiles and friendliness. They had everything all ready for us to ride. The horses were very good and it wasn’t just a boring nose-to-tail trail ride. Our group (experienced riders) was able to trot and lope. The prices were
very reasonable. The group crossed water, rode up and down steep hills, and enjoyed some beautiful scenery. They got the chance to lope around in the field at the end of the ride.
It was an awesome day!

I had the pleasure of staying behind a visiting with Ron. We sat underneath a beautiful shade tree. I enjoyed our conversation and learned some very cool things about horses.

We came to celebrate my daughter’s birthday and it was truly an AMAZING experience!

Thank you so very much! Look forward to seeing you again soon!


John S.:
San Antonio, TX
0 friends
1 review
5.0 star rating 10/12/2015
We just returned from a great ride at Cross G Ranch. I can’t say enough about Ron and Amber. My wife had never been on a horse before today, now she can’t wait to go back. This is a beautiful place to ride very private and secluded.

Comment from Ron G. of Cross-G-Ranch
Business Owner
10/12/2015 Thanks John, the next ride will be awesome. We enjoyed your company. Ron Griffith


March 2015-From Alaska:

Hi Ron and Nancy, Jon and I (Eagle River, Alaska) just want to thank you again for arranging our fabulous 3 hour ride last Friday. We were very impressed with your operation, the courteousness and professionalism (and good humor) of your staff as they maintained a very relaxed yet safe event. Your horses were well behaved and just lovely! My husband, who has raised a few of his own, especially pleased with his! As I travel a lot with my work across the country, we try to ride every where we visit as it is one of the best ways to enjoy the land. Yours was the best ride yet!
Thank you again,
Jon and Susan Watkins


January 2015-From Denmark:

My morning ride with Rikke Bruntse Dahl, Denmark, on Bling.Ron from Cross-G-Ranch was like living my childhood dream of being a cowgirl for two hours.Rikke-Bruntse-Dahl_tn
Being on a horseback in the harsh, but very beautiful, landscape at the ranch sent me into a different world, far away from the business of city life and gave me a huge energy boost.
There were a few very friendly locals in the small group, who knew each other, the horses and the area. This made me feel more like part of a real Texan day out than a tourist on a run-of the-mill ride. There was a beginner in the group and Ron expertly handled the ride, so we all got the most from it. In a very warm and personal way he led us through water, up and down hills and by the end of the ride, it felt like all had had a lovely trip.
In choosing which ranch to ride at, it was important to me that there was a solid focus on the horses and here I had definitely chosen the right place. Ron continuously talked about the individual horses and his horsemanship shone through. I had the pleasure of being carried by Bling – a lively, responsive and fun horse. The other two Cross-G-Ranch horses, Traveler and Riley, were very different – one hugely energetic and one very calm (for the beginner), but my impression was that they were both responsive, happy horses.
All in all, it was exactly what I had hoped for and more.
Rikke Bruntse Dahl, Denmark


December 2014-From Japan: Dear Ron and Nancy, We safely returned to Japan.
Thank you for providing us with the exciting horseback riding in the big Texas field on Dec.27.Picture of Koichi Ikeda and son, along with Ron and Nancy Griffith It became the most memorable activity in our ten-day family trip in the South of US.japan_12-14_tn
As it was the first horse riding in my 65 years of life, at first, it was quite frightening that the saddle was going up and down much harder than I had expected. But within a few minutes, I could get accustomed to it.
The grips of the center front and the back of the saddle were very helpful, especially when going up and going down. My son told me that the horse saddles in Japan do not have such grips. For me, it would be very difficult to go up and down without them.
The view was very splended at the higher area of the hill. Also, I was very impressed that your horses and dogs are very calm and obedient. They seemed to be well trained.The photo with you is attached in this email.
Thank you, Koichi Ikeda


October 2014:

Just took the most beautiful ride I could ever imagine on a beautiful horse named Faith. I moved to Texas from Alaska and happened to get lucky enough to have a connection to the Cross G Ranch. Five thousand acres of gorgeous property and a perfect horse and a peace of mind that was sorely needed. When I am on a horse, I feel important. What can I say? Thank you from the bottom of my heart.
Shan


September 2014:

Hi Ron and Nancy!
Gabriel and I wanted to express how much we truly enjoyed our experience at Cross G Ranch. It was everything we wanted our ride to be; your horses are beautiful and extremely well trained. It is obvious that you and Ron love what you do and are very knowledgeable. You both have motivated us to one day have our own horses! We will definitely be back often for more rides. Please tell Tejas, Faith, and Cowboy we said hello. :) Best Regards, Gabriel and Arianne


May 2014:

Just wanted to say what a great trail ride we had with Ron and Nancy. They are great hosts and took us on a wonderful 2-hour ride. It was a real joy not to have to ride nose-2-tail the whole time. They aren’t a dude ranch, so they are focused soley on making sure you enjoy your ride and making sure to match you up with a good horse for your size and ability and take you on an appropriate route. Much more personal attention than some rides we’ve been on. It was everything we hoped for and more! James and Tobie, Georgia


April 2014:

I wanted to let you know how much we enjoyed our ride with Cross-G-Ranch Trail Rides ! My husband and our friends Beth and Larry rode with you on our recent trip to SanAntonio on April 16 th 2014. The horses you provided were in great shape and a perfect match to our size and capability. It was refreshing not to ride nose to tail and be able to enjoy the ride and the beautiful terrain. Both you and Ron were fabulous hosts and obviously very experienced outdoor horse people. The beautiful ranch you took us on had various terrains from meadows to river beds and the “Sherwood” Forest! Your attention to detail was appreciated with continued narrative during the ride and bottled water at the end. Our two hour ride with you was a highlight of our Texas experience, and I would highly recommend it to anyone. Thanks again for the great experience! Sheryl, Vancouver, Canada


March 2014:

Thank you and Ron for a wonderful time!! We thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it! Though I had a couple (initially) reluctant participants, that quickly changed, and everyone agreed our trail ride was in the top 2 things we did on our trip (we’re split 2 and 2 for 1st and 2nd favorite). It was really neat how each one of us ended up with the perfect horse for our personalities. The horses were wonderful; Ron and his assistant were fabulous, the dogs were fun, the views and trails amazing. If any of our friends are heading in that direction and looking to do a trail ride, we will certainly refer them to you and will be back ourselves at some point, I’m sure!
Thank you again and best of luck to you. Kara


March 2014:

I wanted to write this note and let you know how much we enjoyed our trip this past weekend. My husband is already planning our next horseback ride. We will be contacting you again the next time we are in San Antonio. Once again we really enjoyed it and have already recommended you to everyone we tell about it.
Thanks, Tammy and James


Feb, 2014, From Pennsylvania:

Am back in icy, snowy, cold Philadelphia but wanted to let you know I had a wonderful ride on Faith. She was a lovely little horse. I will remember this trip forever. Thank you so much. Would love to bring my “kids” out to spend a day sometime, but will see. Think Spring!
Warmly, Mindy Leo


From Germany:

I found Nancy’s and Ron’s website while searching for a horseback riding place close to San Antonio. After I contacted two other places who didn’t have space the day my family and I wanted to do our trip I decided to write to a few places at the same time. Nancy was one of the first to answer and after checking the prices (which did not differ from the other places, therefor this was not a money based but rather sympathy based decision). I called Ron to talk about the details and we got along great as well. Now I was really looking forward to my trip to the States and to meet Ron and Nancy. We agreed to meet in Pipe Creek at 10 o’clock. Ron was already there to meet us. When we got to the place to meet Nancy and the horses, we also met Marlene a friend of Nancy and Ron. It gave me a secure feeling knowing, that there were just as many guides as we were riders. Really liked that, big plus ! The horses were the best ever. Silvia fell in love with Faith at once. Kim got along with her horse as well and Travler and I had a great time also. I think we already know which horses we would like to ride next time. We saw deer, a cat spooked by Cowboy the never-tired Lab (Nancy, I don’t think it was a ring tail cat, it didnt have the striped tail). The route chosen was perfect for our experience level and we got to lope which was really really nice. I can only make my point again, that I really enjoyed the company, the horses, the trail and that everything was worth it. Hopefully I will have time to come back for a ride next year. Best wishes from Germany and please pet Travelers neck for me, and if he is allowed to, let him have a carrot or two :) Jana


From Georgia:

Dear Ron, I just had to tell you one more time what a great time I had on Traveler on Tuesday. I have told everyone who would listen about the ride and what a great guide you are. You are truly touching lives with what you do. You have inspired me to go home and volunteer at a horse shelter near my home. They need riders and people to help care for rescued horses. Keep doing what you are doing as you will never know the dominoe effect you are starting. If we come back to San Antonio we will definitely ride with you again.
Best Wishes, Sandy


From a Customer’s Mother:

I wanted to let you know how much I have appreciated your presence in our family for the past couple of years. When My daughter wanted to take riding lessons, I had no idea how to find a riding instructor. It was a blessing that a local merchant overheard our conversation and gave us your name. You were heaven sent. Not only did my daughter find her special talent, but through her work with you she has also improved in school. Riding is the one privilege she is not willing to do without. Homework is no longer a problem, since she does not want to miss an opportunity to ride. It has also helped her confidence level, especially since each of her siblings have a talent were they recieve a lot of recognition. Celine now has a gift that is uniquely her own.
I was thankful for the blessings riding has bestowed on my daughter, only to find that there was more to be had. When I found out that my son was returning home on leave from his deployement, all I could think of was how I could make the most of it. When you offered up a trail riding opportunity I jumped at it. This would be the perfect way for my Son to enjoy the Texas landscape that he loves so much and it would allow us as a family the opportunity to reconnect without TV or other multimedia getting in the way. My family loved the trail ride. My son Commented on how Army PT did not prepare his legs for riding. My son tells us; no matter where he goes his roots will always be in Texas, because no place else can give you the same experience he had on that trail ride.
Thank you Ron. Signed, Frances A. Gruber, Lt Col, USAFR, NC


From Out of State Visitors From Michigan:

When we travel, to really get to know the area, we go horseback riding. Our trip to Texas was no different, except for the best riding experience we’ve ever had on rented trail horses. We have had our own horses for 27 years, from brood mares (and their foals) to dead broke, child-safe babysitters. We talked with ron, gave him some background, and met him for the ride. The horses were healthy, calm, confident, well mannered, well trained and perfectly matched for us. The area we rode in was beautiful and suited for our experience and desired ride. When we return to Texas, we will definitely clal on Ron Griffith again, but with a lot more time and riding in mind. We felt completely safe and were able to enjoy the gorgeous surroundings as if we were on our own mounts. For horsemen or not so horsey folks, we highly recommend calling Ron for a wonderful riding outing. PS. Even the tack and equipment was in good order and clean.
Signed, Dan and Lee Thomas, Michiganders.


From Out of State Visitors From Canada: Thank you so much for such a wonderful trail ride! My daughter and I were visiting Texas and decided to take a trail ride. We were a little nervous having never ridden before, but Ron took the time to teach us how to ride and continued to instruct us during the ride. Not only that but we learned a lot about horses in general from Ron. The ranch is simply beautiful and if you have never experienced the Texas Hill country you are in for a real treat! We thoroughly enjoyed our ride and came away feeling much more confident around horses. Thanks again and we can’t wait to go again some day.
Signed, Carolyn from Canada.


From a Student:

It was May 2012 when Ron started giving me riding lessons. I come to his ranch twice a week for lessons, and after every lesson I get, I learn new things, important and cool stuff I have never heard or have known in my life. After each lesson, while I unsaddle the horse (Hazel) I get to hear amazing and interesting stories from Ron, about the horses, where they came, story about any riders, and much more and then my favorite part is whenever he finishes his story he always says “that’s my story and I’m sticking with it.” I always look forward on coming to my lessons because I never know what Ron has prepared for me to do or which horse he might let me ride.
It’s always exciting, one day I might get an easy lesson, and another might be a little more challenging, which is good, because it challenges me to be always prepared no matter what the task may be.
I remembered the first day I came to his ranch. Rons lovely wife Nancy was there. They showed me how to brush the horse (Blue), get to know the horse, and Blue was the first horse Ron let me ride. I have always been scared of horses, and I can still remember being scared that day because there is a big animal next to me, and all I can think about that moment was being kicked, bitten, or maybe squeezed by the horse. Each time Ron tells me to do something in the round pen that is a little challenging, he knows and can see right away on my facial expression that I’m scared. He’ll give me a moment and reminds me that fear is not going to do any good for me not just in riding but also in other things in life.
Just recently I arrived one morning for riding lesson and saw Ron putting this pink cute pad on the back of the horse. He asked me if I know what it was and I told him no. He then told me it’s a bare back pad, right after I heard bare back my eyes grew big, mouth was opened, and I was just really shocked and scared. He wanted me to practice riding bare back because it’s good for finding balance, I did it for couple of lessons, doing a normal routine except I didn’t have a stirrup to depend on. I was sore after that week, but whenever I got back to using saddle, it was amazing because I wasn’t bouncing too much on a trot or a lope. Ron said that I was starting to get my seat, which is good for me and for the horse too. Ron has a trail ride going and he brings me as many times as I can so I can apply and practice the things he teaches me inside the round pen out there. I have to admit it is way different and more challenging. But going out on a trail ride gave me more riding skills, experience, and going up and down those crazy hills is terrifying for me, but gives me one heck of a journey and I learned to trust my horse and especially trust myself.
I am getting less scared with horses. They are very amazing creatures of God, some people may care less about them but once you get to know them you would be amazed how wonderful animals they are and the things they can do, like pets except they’re way bigger. I learned not only parts of the saddle, of the horse, kinds of bits, and much more other things but I also learned something about me. Ron is a very good trainer, coach, story-teller, and much more, but mostly he can make something special come out of you. Ron and Nancy are wonderful nice people and I am blessed to get to know them and work with them. Now I am a better rider and a better person than the first day I started and I’m still and will continue my riding lesson and learn new things every day.
NMD


From a Couple:

My husband and I went on a 2-hour ride with Ron Griffith for my birthday. We loved every minute of it! He was very professional, patient, and informative. He’s an excellent teacher. Whether you have a little experience, or a lot, he is very knowledgeable! His horses were very sweet, well taken care of , and you could tell they have a strong bond with Ron. The best part of our ride was that we were not nose to tail like some other places. The property we were riding on was very beautiful as well. I would highly recommend him to anyone who would like an awesome experience. We are definitely returning as soon as we can! Thank you, Tracie and Brandon Caddell


From Another Rider:

I wanted to take this opportunity to let you know how much I appreciate your outstanding work with Style and me.
Less than a year ago when I purchased Style, her training and experience were somewhat limited. She had shown as a halter horse and had some under saddle work. She was spooky, difficult to saddle and pulled back when tied. She was not ready for trails and neither was I.
Ron, your consistent, level headed and caring training brought the best out in Style. She and I can now tackle the toughest trail, having a safe and confident ride.
Without your skill and knowledge, we would not have been able to enjoy the hours of trail riding she and I have shared. Your work with her has truly transformed both of us into a confident team.
I would have no difficulty recommending you and your skilled training to anyone, young or old, who wants to have a better horse or be a better rider. I am confident that you can tackle the toughest challenge with the caring skills and abilities you possess.
Style and I thank you for the hours of trail riding we have been able to enjoy. God bless,
Marlene Nash, Pipe Creek.


On Yelp.com:

 Cross G Ranch is amazing, by far the best trail ride I have ever been on. Growing up riding horses I have hated every trail ride I have ever been on, which usually only consists of your horse following whatever horse’s butt is in front of it. Whether you are a novice or an experienced rider they make you feel comfortable, tailor the ride to your specifications and let you “do your thing”. The property is beautiful and gives you a great view of the Texas Hill Country. Also, Ron and his wife are some of the nicest, most accommodating people you’ll ever meet. My boyfriend just took me here as my birthday present and I cannot recommend it more highly. Go here!
Mallory J., Austin, TX, August, 8-18-2013